Importing an existing Excel file into a table

• Goodday,

I am pretty new to SQL having just started, but i have managed to create a database with linked tables and foreign key connections.

However now i have run into the problem that there is an excel file that contains the information we need.

It contains the column Branches which houses the names of the different departments that are part of it.

However in the SQL table the branches column is denoted with a numerical value due to its linkage with its parent table Branches which contains more information.

What i would like to learn if its possible to use a query to search the excel column branches with the branches table in sql for similar values and replace those values with the correct Identifier?

I hope i am making it clear and if not then please let me know so i can try to create a more visual display of what i mean

• What I would do is this:

1. Save this spreadsheeet as a CSV (importing Excel sheet into a database is not so easy)

2. Import the file to a staging table using SSIS.

3. Perform transformations and load your database from this staging table again using SSIS again.

Rob

Robert Murphy, Microsoft MCITP (Database Administrator 2008) and MCAD Certified
  • You can also open the Excel document directly from SQL Server and SELECT from it just like using a table.

SELECT * INTO XLImport4 FROM OPENROWSET('Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0',

'Excel 8.0;Database=C:\test\xltest.xls', [Customers$])

SELECT * INTO XLImport5 FROM OPENROWSET('Microsoft.Jet.OLEDB.4.0',

'Excel 8.0;Database=C:\test\xltest.xls', 'SELECT * FROM [Customers$]')

• If you are using excel 2007 , i.e .xlsx format file, use below code.

SELECT * INTO ExcelTable FROM

OPENROWSET('Microsoft.ACE.OLEDB.12.0','Excel 12.0;Database=D:\test.xlsx', 'SELECT * FROM [Sheet1$]');

Note: To be able to import directly to sql server, you must keep your Excel file on the server where sql server runs, or a shared path that has access to sql server.