How to reduce time in adding PK constraint on a table?

• I'm a DBA stepping into an ugly situation. Amongst many bad things, I'm trying to get better throughput from their production systems to their reporting systems (their previous DBA had set up a complicated and oft-failing nightly backup/copy/restore procedure for their numerous databases, several over 400GB). I immediately put the kaibosh on that and moved several of the more problematic instances over to log-shipping, but that has its weaknesses as well, so I've been putting together a plan to move them over to replication. Part of the condition for this was that the data needed to be updated regularly in the reporting environment. No sweat, I've set up complex replication schema before, I've got this...

Except that when I went to set up transactional replication (we're initializing from a backup) one of the tables couldn't be used, as SOMEONE DIDN'T CREATE IT WITH A PRIMARY KEY! Jesus. Ok, so I've been testing it out in my test environment, and the best that I can do is about 5 minutes for adding the primary key constraint to the table, given the same table, the same hardware. It's 46MM rows, about 22GB. The filegroup is stored on a 3PAR SAN volume. This database is fundamental to site traffic and we field about millions of hits a day and this table is, in particular, being written to constantly.

Does anyone have any bright ideas on how I can reduce the time it takes to add the Primary Key constraint?

• Will you be creating a clustered index as part of the primary key? If so, drop all nonclustered indexes first, add the clustered primary key index and then recreate the nonclustered indexes.

• No, there is already a clustered index on the table.

• What edition of SQL Server are you running?

• 2008 Enterprise

• You can use the "WITH NOCHECK" option when creating the Primary key.

Example:

ALTER TABLE test WITH NOCHECK

ADD CONSTRAINT PK_test PRIMARY KEY (Id)