How to Modify SPs automatically to include the change of tableSchema

• Hi All,

I am new to adminstration. can you help me with following.....

My application contains 300 tables & 1000procedures. Now am adding additional column to some tables ( say 180 ). Now i need to change the SPs which referes these tables, to accept one extra parameter and the logic of the existing sps need to be changed to include the filter condition based on the new parameter.

Is there anyway that i can automate this or do I need to do it manually by selecting the dependencies of each tale one by one.

Thanks for you help....:)

• PavanKK (11/26/2009)

Hi All,

I am new to adminstration. can you help me with following.....

My application contains 300 tables & 1000procedures. Now am adding additional column to some tables ( say 180 ). Now i need to change the SPs which referes these tables, to accept one extra parameter and the logic of the existing sps need to be changed to include the filter condition based on the new parameter.

Is there anyway that i can automate this or do I need to do it manually by selecting the dependencies of each tale one by one.

Thanks for you help....:)

not enough detailed information. what is the new column? it's purpose? why do the sp's need to be modified? what's new that they need to use the new column to take into consideration?

if you are just adding a datetime column, are you putting a default value of getdate()?

in the title, it kinda of implied the schema(newschema vs dbo?); need some clarity, and real details before we can offer advice.

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!