How do I give readonly access to connect to SSIS

• I want my SSIS developers to be able to connect to SSIS from their workstations and monitor the success of package runs.  Because of change control procedures, I am NOT allowed to let them make changes on the production SSIS server.  I can connect without problems as I am a local administrator on the server. How can I configure limited access to SSIS?

Robin HC

• I was thinking about this and why would you want to limit read only rights in SSIS.  the connection to the DBengine would limit the ability to do anything.  That would be controlled using NT Authentication.  so if they had read writes they would not be able to exec anything on the server

• I want the developer of the package to be able to connect to the integration server from his desktop and monitor the processing of the package.  The package feeds a new data warehouse and completes in 1.5 to 3 hours.  Although I want him to be able to monitor the package execution, I do not want him to start the package execution. I need to do that.  I set up RDP so that he could log onto the server and he can run the management studio and connect to the integration services just fine.  When he tries to connect remotely from his workstation, we get the error message “cannot connect to {servername}. Additional information: Failed to retrieve data for this request. (Microsoft.SqlServer.SmoEnum)  Connect to SSIS Service on machine {servername} failed: Access is denied”

• now that is complicated. Is the integration server the default or is it a named instance? 2005 is tricky with that. For instance my machine is RC222 but the Server named instance is JKSQL. So it is RC222\JKSQL. 2005 only shows RC222 you need to specify the name. If that is not the problem why not just make the SSIS package a job and let him monitor the job? Use tables or e-mail for errors if they occur. Beside those recomendations I am out of ideas why access would be denied. Sorry