HELP! -- New to database design

• Greetings all SSC members! Let me start of by saying I am VERY new to db design (read: this is my first real attempt) AND this is my first time posting here at SCC. I'm a ColdFusion programmer so I have basic SQL skills but now I've been asked to create an entire db structure from scratch. The application will be an online mortgage application service. One of the requirements is to support multiple buyers on a single sale (i.e. a primary and secondary buyer). I've created all the necessary tables to house the buyers with a relationship table to relate one buyer to another (and another and another if necessary). Additionally, I have a separate table to house various contact methods (e.g. Email, Home Phone, Work Phone, etc.) and another table that holds a particular buyer's contact value (e.g. 'someemail@domain.com', '954-555-1212', '305-123-1234', etc.). As you can imagine this type of design is resulting in multiple records for a single buyer with only the contact method and contact value differing. I was able to incorporate the new PIVOT command to merge the data into a single row. This works perfectly for a single buyer; but when I link a secondary buyer... BAM! I'm stuck with multiple records again.

The preceding brief and haphazard explanation leads to the following 3 questions:

1) Is the design I've built the "right" way to go (see condensed design below)?

2) How do I PIVOT twice?

3) There are roughly 20 tables with strict PK to FK ref. integrity. How do I know which column(s) to create indexes on? (P.S. - I understand this question is somewhat vague and off topic;) )

Please see the attached doc for CREATE, INSERT and SELECT statements.

NOTE: The buyer2 columns have been commented out to show the desired output format