Flat File source to SQL Server Destination question

• I am new to SSIS so this may be an obvious question to some.

Is there a way to split a Flat File Source into multiple SQL Server Destinations? A conditional split is not what I am looking either (I think).

The file is actually going to the same destination but I need to split it into more than 1 destination due to the way the text file is set up. It has 4 columns at the end of the file that has multiple payroll id's. Lets say payroll_id1, payroll_id2, payroll_id3...and so on. I need to put all these payroll_id's into a single column called payroll_id into the database.

What I am doing at the moment is just making numerous data flows for each column coming out the text file.

Is there a way to avoid doing that?

• So I think you are trying to create 4 records for each record coming from your text file.

For this, you can use a Multicast component in your data flow - it just duplicates your data set as many times as you want.

• Does multicast work when its going to the same table? I believe I tried to do this method once and it keep giving me an error.

I will try to run this method again just in case.

Thanks for the reply.

• I just tried that method and it gives me a null error everytime. I have no idea why. I have read the error log over and over and it makes no sense to me at all. The first destination in the multicast works but the second pops the error.

If I go in and do multiple data flows it always works fine. It's just alot of things to run at once.

• You can multi-cast and then insert into a single table.

You have options here as well. You could use a UNION ALL to merge your Multi-cast output together into a single data set and then use a single destination component. You could also use several destination components (making sure they do not lock the table).