Filter data in report by using dropbox

• Hello guys,

I am new in SSRS 2005 and I need some help from you.

I am developing my first reports and my issue is the following.

After having executed the report I should be able to filter, for instance by using a drop box. in a few words, selecting the parameter, the data is shown in the report depending on the parameter selected in the dropbox.

for example, the dataset produce the report:

col1, col2, col3, colfilter

Just as example, the column filter allow only 2 values; a or b for each row.

So, I from the dropdown box I select "a":

valCol_11a, valcol_12a, valcol_13a, a

valCol_21a, valcol_22a, valcol_23a, a

valCol_n1a, valcol_n2a, valcol_n3a, a

Then, from the drop box I select "b", and I get the following data selection:

valCol_11b, valcol_12b, valcol_13b, b

valCol_21b, valcol_22b, valcol_23b, b

valCol_n1b, valcol_n2b, valcol_n3b, b

and so on.....

I know that building a query in the dataset with @paramter as a filter I have the dropbox; but this drop box is used before running the report just to set the parameters.

What I need, it is a filter tool like a dropbox to be used when the report is already shown.

Otherwise if I have lots of parametr I need to launch again the report and select all the dropbox available to run the report.

Could you help me

Many thanks

• If I get what you're asking then what you need is a dataset for each drop down box

In a new dataset get all your parameter values into two columns, Label and Value. Then on your parameter set the Available values to "get value from a Query" use the data set you just made and set your label and Values fields.

Then on the Parameter tab of your main dataset set "parameter Value" the parameter you just set up.

Hope this makes sense, It's very early...

• Hi, and thanks for your reply.

I need to apply filtering directly at report level and not at dataset level.

I think the way to proceed if different and I need some help from you.

Many thanks.