Exec Trigger On Import

• Hi,

I am running a POC database on my desktop using SQL Server Express 2012. I have created some triggers that work when I manually run a DML statement but do not seem to run when I use the Import Query. Is it possible to run a trigger based on Import?

Thanks,

J

• bump

• jeandlauro (12/24/2013)

Hi,

I am running a POC database on my desktop using SQL Server Express 2012. I have created some triggers that work when I manually run a DML statement but do not seem to run when I use the Import Query. Is it possible to run a trigger based on Import?

Thanks,

J

When you say you are using an Import Query, what exactly are you using?

• SSMS. I am new to SQL Server. Is there better software to do this?

• I believe that Lynn was referring to what command did you use (eg. INSERT INTO, BULK INSERT, bcp, etc).

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer:
    Are you seriously taking the advice and code from someone from the internet without testing it? Do you at least understand it? Or can it easily kill your server?

How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help: Option 1 / Option 2
  • I'm using the SQL Server Import and Export Wizard.

Is there a way to write SQL to import from Excel using SS Express?

• jeandlauro (12/31/2013)

I'm using the SQL Server Import and Export Wizard.

Is there a way to write SQL to import from Excel using SS Express?

The import/export wizard uses SSIS behind the scenes. SSIS does not fire triggers unless configured to do so. If I remember correctly the import/export wizard does not provide a means to set the package to fire triggers. You would have to save the package and then edit it using BIDS.

• Thank you!

I am trying to use Bulk insert query instead.

• Remember to use the option to enable triggers (FIRE_TRIGGERS) or the result will be the same.

Luis C.
    General Disclaimer: