Exec query with ActiveX against existing DTS connection

• How do I execute an query using ActiveX against an existing connection? In other words, my package already has a connection object - how do I access it to run a query, or do I have to redefine a connection?

• You'll have to create an new ADO connection within your ActiveX task.

--------------------
    Colt 45 - the original point and click interface

• You can re-use your connection with the execute statement. I normally create and open my connection then populate a sql query string and do a oCN.Execute sqlstring

hope this helps.

Darrell Parrish
    La Crosse, WI

• It does help, and even better, it's in direct opposition to the previous poster.

Could you post a code example (I'm not a VB coder)?

Thanks

• This will create a reference to your connection:

Dim oPkg

Set oPkg = DTSGlobalvariables.parent

Dim oConn

Set oConn = oPkg.Connections("myConn")

However you cannot execute a sql statement against this connection.

I take it you are trying to create a SQL string dynamically?

You hardly have to know how to code to use the Dynamic Properties Task.  Just use your ActiveX script to create a global variable called sSQL and write your SQL string to it.  Then go into your Dynamic Properties Task and set the SQL statement of an ExecSQL task equal to that string.  You can also do this for transformations as well.

[font="Courier New"]ZenDada[/font]

• No, I'm not trying to create a statement on-the-fly. All I'm trying to do is find out if a table has any rows (count(*)). If not, DTSStepScriptResult_DontExecuteTask.

Please note that I'm on SQL 7; I don't have a "Dynamic Properties Task".

I just don't understand why, when I have a connection created in the DTS package, I can't use it to run a simple query.