Error when running job, package execution failure

• Hi, so I'm very new to SQL Server but I keep running into this error when I manually run a job from SQL Server Agent.

The error from the log files:

"Source: Truncate RAW Table Execute SQL Task Description: Executing the query "TRUNCATE TABLE [EdwStaging].[RAW].[DimUnitOfMeasur..." failed with the following error: "Cannot find the object "DimUnitOfMeasure" because it does not exist or you do not have permissions.". Possible failure reasons: Problems with the query, "ResultSet" property not set correctly, parameters not set correctly, or connection not established correctly."

I've tried running SQL Server Management Studio as an Admin and it still returns the error. I'm able to run the individual package that it's failing on successfully but when I run the bigger master package, it fails.

Any ideas would be very appreciated!

• hogpen (1/4/2013)

Hi, so I'm very new to SQL Server but I keep running into this error when I manually run a job from SQL Server Agent.

The error from the log files:

"Source: Truncate RAW Table Execute SQL Task Description: Executing the query "TRUNCATE TABLE [EdwStaging].[RAW].[DimUnitOfMeasur..." failed with the following error: "Cannot find the object "DimUnitOfMeasure" because it does not exist or you do not have permissions.". Possible failure reasons: Problems with the query, "ResultSet" property not set correctly, parameters not set correctly, or connection not established correctly."

I've tried running SQL Server Management Studio as an Admin and it still returns the error. I'm able to run the individual package that it's failing on successfully but when I run the bigger master package, it fails.

Any ideas would be very appreciated!

If you are running the TRUNCATE statement from a job step, make sure the step is referencing the correct database. Sounds like the step is trying to run in some database other than EdwStaging.

Roland Alexander 
    The Monday Morning DBA