Error in Single Record, Msg 3624 m_offBeginVar < m_SizeRec

• I've been a SQL DBA for close to six years and I've never seen this exact issue.

I have a database that is the target of a log shipping setup, the past two days the database has restored seemingly fine from full backups and tlogs, however when I try to run a query on a specific table in the restored database I get this error:

----------------------------------------------------------------

Server: Msg 3624, Level 20, State 1, Line 1

Expression: m_offBeginVar < m_SizeRec

SPID: 103

Process ID: 384

Connection Broken

----------------------------------------------------------------

I have it narrowed down to a single row in the table that is causing the problem.

When I run a repair on the db it finishes and fixes it by deleting the single record.

My concern is that the subsequent backups coming from the remote database are going to continue to have this problem since the last two days have both done it. Prior to this, the backup from three days ago is fine and contains the same row but has no issues.

My question, has anyone seen this before? Is there something I can do to fix the problem going forward? What might be the source of the issue? Obviously I've already googled like crazy but there doesn't seem to be much suggestions other than do a repair and hope it doesn't happen again.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Ben

• Thanks for the links Mani. I checked out the articles you listed but none apply specifically to my problem. I don't get the error when I back up the DB or when I restore from the backup. I don't have any clustered indexes and I'm not using any lock hints.

Any other ideas on this?

• Can you run DBCC CHECKDB (dbname) WITH ALL_ERRORMSGS, NO_INFOMSGS and post the RESULT here..

• Here's what I get:

-----------------------------------------------------------------------

Server: Msg 8928, Level 16, State 1, Line 1