Eror: 15457 ... how to lookup for dummies?

• I'm seeing the following error in my log ... where do I go to find out its meaning ... a url or search engine?  it occurs after a change to 'allow updates'

Error: 15457, Severity: 0, State: 1

Thanks

• This probably isn't entirely what you were hoping for, but in BOL if you type in the number in Index search you can find the 15000-15999 error state range. Looking up 15457 gives the following:

154570Configuration option '%ls' changed from %ld to %ld. Run the RECONFIGURE statement to install.

I'm not sure if you need more than that, but if you do run a Google or other search the "Run the RECONFIGURE statement to install" text may give you better results than the code. I'm not sure if there is a way to get the %ls and %ld substitution values from the log or not. I'm a novice when it comes to reading error logs.

Good luck.

• You mentioned you receive this error message after a 'change to allow updates'. Are you allowing updates to your system tables? If you are, you must run the RECONFIGURE command to it take effect.

• We only allowed it to apply a hot fix. 

Thanks

• I just saw that same error myself this morning. The cause seems totally unrelated to the error, however. A user executed a stored procedure that contained a TRUNCATE TABLE statement. In the application, the following error was returned: Error #3704, "User does not have permission to perform this operation...".

To execute TRUNCATE TABLE, the user must belong to one these groups:  a sysadmin or db_owner or db_ddladmin. ( Since the table is small, I changed the code to DELETE <Table> )

Try to find out who generated the error, then look for a permission issue, more likely related to executing a statement without proper permissions rather than not having a object-level permission.

• This is a leftover from pre-EM days. It's a reminder that you have to run RECONFIGURE WITH OVERRIDE for your configuration change to take affect.