ER diagram and related query!

• Hi

I am getting 1000 rows returned from this Query: (see attached ER diagram)

select *

from Customers,Meters, MeterReadings, Invoice

where Customers.idCustomers = 2;

Obviously that's wrong!! so i'm thinking that maybe the ER diagram is set up wrong... for example, I should get two metersIDs back for customerID 2, with the associated readings and invoices but thats not the case, Where am i going wrong??

Customers – minimum 20 records

Meters – min. 30 records

Meter Readings – min. 100 readings

Invoices – 1 per Meter Reading

The query is:

For any specific Customer list each of their Meters, Meter Readings and Invoices

If you haven't guessed already I'm a complete newb

Hope you can help... even if it's just to tell me that the ER diagram is set up correctly!! If need be I can attach the data that I used to populate the tables

Thanks

• join criteria is critical in any sql to make any sense from multiple tables.

because you are using the old style joins, and never identify the join criteria, you are getting a cross join or cartesian product: all rows from four tables time their # of rows. Customers * Meters * MeterReadings * Invoice

change to the standard join syntax,a nd it would make more sense:

i guessed on the column names

select *

from Customers

LEFT OUTER JOIN Meters ON Customers.CustomerID=Meters.CustomerID

LEFT OUTER JOIN MeterReadings ON Meters.MeterID = MeterReadings.MeterID

LEFT OUTER JOIN Invoice ON Customers.CustomerID=Invoice.CustomerID

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!

• Hi Lowell

Thanks for the reply.

I've tried that query and got the following error: