Ecrypting the database objects - Cons and Pros

• Hi,

I am a SQL DBA for the middle size Company in Florida.

We are a software Company running SQL Server 2008 and 2012 (mostly 2012) on the backend and .NET application on the frontend.

Our Management Team is very concerned about the security of our intellectual property.

So it was suggested (not by DBA's) to encrypt the objects in the Company's SQL Server databases (including stored procedures, functions, views, etc....)

I personally do not thing, that this is a good idea, because of many reasons, i.e.:

1. I do not see how we would be able to use the Performance Monitoring Tools (internal and external).

2. I'm not sure how the Backup and Restore processes would be affected since we are utilizing the external tools for these purposes.

3. I can see the option of TFS Server failure and a risk of loosing the latest scripts.

4. I would think that there should be a performance hit to the application due to the encrypted values.

5. I also can see that with some effort the experience folks can decrypt the scripts if needed.

6. And many other small problems, that I'm not mentioning here.

That's why I wanted to hear the opinion of the SQL Server community.

I would be very interested to know if this strategy has been ever used in the Corporate or any other environments, and what are the cons and pros.

Your attention to this question is greatly appreciated.

Thank you.

Alex

• because you said intellectual property, i'm thinking that your database is given to your clients, and a different DBA than yourself administers that database. if you control the db, you'd control who has access to see those definitions.

in SQL Encrypting procs, views and functions is simply obfuscation. it's still possible for the DBA to decrypt them and get their original text. it keeps casual users and folks without sysadmin access from getting to them if access is granted accidentally though, so it certainly might a value.