DTS Package - Replace/Append

• I am new to SQL, so I apologize a head of time if this is not the right forum for this question. 

I have a DTS package set up to run every 24 hours.  It ties back to a .csv file created by an ERP package.  Currently, the DTS package appends the data in the .csv file to the table in question.   Is there a way to have the package replace portions of the data while retaining the rest of the data in the table?

Here is what I am trying to accomplish.  The ERP creates a .csv file for a rolling three day period of time.  Ideally, I would like to have the DTS package set up so that when it loads the current .csv file, it will replace all of the data for that rolling period of time.  Everything outside of that period of time in the table should be left alone.  (Every row in the table has a date field.)

Thanks for your help!

-Rachel

• Well, I think my response to this would be similar to another response I just posted.

I don't think you could do this all in one step.  Nor would you want to if that required doing row-by-row processing, which is much slower than set-based.

So, it seems a solution would be to load the csv file into a staging table.  Then, update the final destination table from the staging table.  You could first find the min/max datetimes from the staging table, then delete rows in the final table within those dates.  Then copy over the rows between those dates from the staging table.  Something along those lines.

• Thank you for the advice.  If I went this route, could it be scheduled, or would it be better to go through the steps manually?