Drowning in Agility. Where do I start?

• I am a development DBA at an agile software company. I have been there about a year. This is my first experience in agile development. I work in an office on 40-50 web developers, and two other warehouse DBAs. I do OLTP. I was a production DBA before this. I consider myself a mid level DBA.

I also work for a web developer with minimal database experience (as recently more of my supervisors have come from striclty web backgrounds, and less and less database backgrounds).

I am very detailed oriented, very organized, extremely linear, mathmatical of course, and I usually think things through throughly before making changes/decisions. I have found these skills really helpful in the past towards my quest to be a great DBA.

However, in this object oriented, sql 2005, agile movement, these skills seem to be more of hinderance than a blessing. I am trying to be more agile, less rigid DBA, but do not really understand it, or where to start.

What do I read? Where do I go? How do I make this jump? How do I maintain a relational database, integrity, constraints, normalization etc., but be able to change on a dime? How do I find a middle ground with the web developers, who stop just short of saying they don't need a database anymore, but a large XML repository will do.

I feel as if I am drowing in agility. Can anyone assist me?

• All the articles I have read on agile development acknowledge that the database layer is the one that acts as a bottle neck.

Agile development is about completing a single project as a series of mini-projects with the key learnings and outcomes from one mini-project being applied to and influencing subsequent min-projects.

The problem with agile development is that the people who run agile developments need to be skilled practioners and be able to identify the fundamental core step for a project. As data is the foundation stone of a data driven web site that core step will involve you.