Dissertation theme in MS SQL Server for a DBA

• In this forum I want to ask a question like this. I know it does not actually touch problems in MS SQL Server, but I am a DBA using MS SQL Server and I'd like to write a dissertation on a topic considering database administration. I'd like to write a useful system using TSQL scripts and  I want to ask which themes and aspects do need research nowadays in administration theme? 
    Suggestions are very welcome in any topic.
    Thanks for consideration.

• I'd suggest focusing primarily in the area of DevOps. Automation as administration or administration through automation if you like. I think this is the area that is most challenging, most interesting, and where people need the most information.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• Grant Fritchey - Thursday, September 13, 2018 6:10 AM

I'd suggest focusing primarily in the area of DevOps. Automation as administration or administration through automation if you like. I think this is the area that is most challenging, most interesting, and where people need the most information.

This is a bit of a sore spot with me... automation and administration isn't what DevOps is (IMHO).  In fact, DevOps isn't a person, place, thing, or method.  It's a culture.  The culture can certainly lead to what you say but DevOps itself isn't one of those things... its "just" an awesome culture.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.