Difference between a server in general and SQL server?

• Hi all,

I know it's too simple a question to be posted on this forum but I am new to the hardware side of the things. While doing the sizing and requirement analysis for implementing an ERP, I got totally confused with the definition of SQL server. It must be a combination of hardware and software. If I am going to install a complete new system for the ERP then what I am going to buy? Can I use the server for installing programs other than SQL server?

Thanks,

K

• SQL server is a software product whose primary function is to store and retrieve data as requested by other software applications, be it those on the same computer or those running on another computer across a network (including the Internet). There are at least a dozen different editions of Microsoft SQL Server aimed at different audiences and for different workloads (ranging from small applications that store and retrieve data on the same computer, to millions of users and computers that access huge amounts of data from the Internet at the same time).

• Thanks Padhis. And what is the hardware required for the software; can that hardware be used to install other applications - like SAP?

Regards,

K

• If you open up Book Online (the SQL help file) there's a lot of info on the hardware requirements. If you have no idea where to start (as it sounds), suggest to your bosses that they get a competent consultant in to advise them. Mess up on the hardware and you'll have problems for years.

Yes, SQL can share servers with other software, but it's generally not recommended and if you go that route you must understand how the various pieces of software behave and what resources they'll need and how they must be configured.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter