DBA and Developer Relationship

• I've been a developer for over 16 years and at the beginning of that time, I was forced to play the role of DBA which gave me a better handle on how to troubleshoot problems with the application I worked on from the database side of the house. I have noticed during that time that working with a DBA is not always easy (I'm sure the reverse is also true from the DBA's perspective). There have been times when I've had to work with a DBA who was less than cooperative with me when I have needed his/her help. With the often mandatory separation between developer and DBA, there is often nothing a developer can do to get the problem at the database level resolved except to wait for the DBA to help. What frustrates me is that the DBA is often resentful of helping the developer in getting the issue resolved. My feeling is that the developer and the DBA have to be able to work together as a team in order to keep their customers happy. Can anyone here explain to me why the relationship between the two is often tense? I really want to understand this. This is an honest question and I'd appreciate some constructive feedback on it.

• Hello,

I hope it is stress. Having to manage too many troublesome instances or other work that has to be done too.

Also it is a lot harder to revert to a previous situation (not easy to change datastructures).

At work we can have a sit-in where the required teams come together. It helps hearing what the team is busy about, what the upcoming changes are and their impact.

Currently very busy handling a project which delays other projects. After that I intent to teach, the interested, databasetroubleshooting techniques like tracing, best practices, which can be used on their developmentmachines.

Automation will help too.

You can also escalate when necessary.

• Its interesting that you say:

chinn_chris (10/23/2012)