DB size

• Hello,

I had a database that was 40 Gigs (.MDF file)... I deleted lots of records from this database (deleted more than 50%) and then performed DB Shrink which took 3 hours to run, but the database size dropped by 5 Gigs only...

Is this normal? After deleting all those records and tables, I thought that the size will drop to 15 G…

Thanks

• Hmmm...

Do you have a maintenance plan that cleans up this stuff and does reindexing and all that? I'm not 100% on this but my hunch is that if you deleted all the data but didn't re-index the tables a lot of the data that was delete is still floating around there...

I am just a developer but this is my initial thought...

Hope this helps!

Cheers,

Ben Sullins
    bensullins.com
    Beer is my primary key...

• I first deleted all the data, then re-indexed everything and finally did the shrink db...

• Have you ran DBCC UpdateUsage  ?

A.J.
    DBA with an attitude

• no I didnt

is this the correct statement:

DBCC UPDATEUSAGE (mydb)

Thanks

• hi,fyi ....

ms-help://MS.SQLCC.v9/MS.SQLSVR.v9.en/tsqlref9/html/b8752ecc-db45-4e23-aee7-13b8bc3cbae2.htm

[font="Verdana"]- Deepak[/font]

• Check what is the space being used by the data and log file. Also do the shrinking by file rather than doing it at database level. If you say that all records has been removed the size should come down but it happens other wise i your case. So shrink each file and let us know.

Cheers,
    Sugeshkumar Rajendran
    SQL Server MVP
    http://sugeshkr.blogspot.com

• Hi Sugesh,

I shrinked the file.. This is the statement that I used when I did the shrinking:

USE DBNAME

DBCC SHRINKFILE (DBNAME_data)

But as I mentioned the size reduced by 5 gigs only.

I have't done DBCC UpdateUsage .. I will do that over the weekend and I will keep you guys posted

Thanks

• David,

DBCC Shrinkfile has to go with 2 parameters. As given below

DBCC SHRINKFILE(FILENAME or FILEID, TARGETFILESIZE)

eg:

use tempdb

dbcc shrinkfile(templog, 100)