Data Transfer AS400 --> SQL Server (2005) using SSIS package

• I'm looking for someone with a lot of SSIS knowledge to give me their opinion on the best way to handle a scheduled data transfer from an AS400 file to a SQL Server table. In a nutshell we have "Master" data that is maintained on our AS400, and we would like to be able to use this data in a SQL Server database as well, so we'd like to have nightly updates from the AS400 to our SQL table to synch up the data. I'm trying to accomplish this with an SSIS package.

I'm new to SSIS packages, and sure I could figure something out on my own, but I'm interested in hearing opinions on best practices so that I might be able to avoid some rookie pitfalls.

I have been able successfully create an Ole DB Source for the AS400 that I want to pull data from.

Thanks!

David

• Did you find the answer to your problem? I am having the same problem and have not found a solution. If you have found the solution could you please share it with me. I am new at sql coding and have not been able to find a solution.

Thanks, LJ

• Hi LJ,

Yes, I was able to work something out. The first thing I had to do was create an Ole DB Source to connect to the AS400. Then in the data flow tab, I added a slowly changing dimension control. This control steps you through a wizard to set it up. One issue I had with it was the fact that some of the data types in my source data (AS400) were different than what I had set up in my SQL table. The solution to this was to add a Data Conversion control between my Data Source control and my Slowly Changing Dimension control. In the Data Conversion control you can change the data types of the incoming fields. You can also give them alias names. AS400 field names can be pretty cryptic.

Hope this helps!

David

• I will try it!

Thanks A BUNCH!

LJ

• We transfer data nightly just as you want to do.