Data recovery from system or application crashes

• Hi,

Can anyone please let me know what are the steps to recover the database after system is crashed? I would really appreciate it. I am a junior DBA with not a lot of experience started as intern.

Thanks in advance

• sneaulal (6/16/2016)

Hi,

Can anyone please let me know what are the steps to recover the database after system is crashed? I would really appreciate it. I am a junior DBA with not a lot of experience started as intern.

Thanks in advance

That is really dependent on your system SLAs, Recovery Point Objectives, and Recovery Time Objects. Your best bet is to start with your Senior DBA and/or manager to determine the Standard Operating Procedures for your organization. They may different for different classes of databases and/or applications and can also vary from organization to organization.

Can also depend on the type of failure encountered. Each situation can be unique.

• Lynn Pettis (6/16/2016)

sneaulal (6/16/2016)

Hi,

Thanks in advance

That is really dependent on your system SLAs, Recovery Point Objectives, and Recovery Time Objects. Your best bet is to start with your Senior DBA and/or manager to determine the Standard Operating Procedures for your organization. They may different for different classes of databases and/or applications and can also vary from organization to organization.

Can also depend on the type of failure encountered. Each situation can be unique.

Also check with your supervisor for the recovery documentation. If your business doesn't have recovery documentation, then you should take the initiative to create it as soon as you have a breather from your current crisis (writing down things as you go along, so you remember what worked and what didn't, would also be a good idea. It's hard post-crisis to go back and remember exactly what worked when you're trying so many things).