Data analysis using SQL Server

• Hello!

I'm fairly new to SQL server, and trying to understand the best method to apply some data analysis.

I have a medium size data set 100000+ rows, consisting of date sequential financial data - historical prices over a date range.

I intend to process these row by row using C++, but wish to pre prepare the data by adding extra columns - my assumption being doing this pre processing up front will speed up the sequential data processing.

I'm interested in adding columns containing averages, minimums and maximums over a set period (eg row x would have an average column containing the average of the previous 350 prices, or the maximum column would contain the maximum price out of the previous 50 etc).

I'm using the following code to provide the averages, but it takes a long time (10 mins ish) to select the full data set. I have indexed the table on RowNumber. I'm also a little unsure as to how I combine this with an update to update the appropriate column...

select t1.RowNumber, t1.[close], AVG(t2.[close]) ma_slow

from #temp t1, #temp t2

where t1.RowNumber between t2.RowNumber and t2.RowNumber + 349 and t1.RowNumber between 350 and 100000

group by t1.RowNumber, t1.[close]

order by t1.RowNumber

Any ideas on speeding this process up, or am I better extracting the data into C++ layer and doing the calculations there?

Interestingly, if I limit the RowNumber to 10000, it processes in a few seconds... unsure why having 10 times the data means 1000 times the processing time!

Excel takes about 2 seconds to process the calculation on 100000+ rows(!), but I don't want to do it by hand, and may end up with more data than I can open in Excel...

Thanks,

David.

• given that RowNumber is an interger, why couldn't you simply do it this way:

select RowNumber/350 as ID, avg(close) as average, max(close) as maximum

from your_table

where RowNumber between 350 and 100000

group by RowNumber/350

order by RowNumber/350