Customising Emailled Job Completion Notifications

• Hi,

I've a number of scheduled jobs that run on SQL 2005 servers each night, resulting in about 1000 job completion notifications landing in my inbox everyday. It's important for me to know quickly at the start of the day which jobs have failed, but the subject line of the Default job completion emails gives no indication of job failure or success, I need to look inside the email to see if it failed or not. I've been doing this every morning for a couple of months, but it's pretty inefficient.. My eye moves faster than my hand, and it would be easier for me just to sort the folder these emails arrive in by subject, so that the failed jobs are at the top.

Currently the subject line is along the lines of:

"SQL Server Job System: '%JobName%' completed on %InstanceName%"

I'd like to alter the Subject line of the emails being sent so that they begin with the Completion Status.. For example

"%Status% - Job %JobName% on %InstanceName%" and do away with all Microsofts superfluous junk. Is it possible to just edit a system table to do this? Or run an XP with the correct tokens?

• DaftUsername (6/9/2008)

It's important for me to know quickly at the start of the day which jobs have failed

Is there any need then to notify by email on anything other than a failure? I can't imagine how annoyed I would be if I spent hours looking through all of those emails only to find that all jobs were successful...lol.

Turn off the notification of success, would be your best bet. Otherwise, are you using outlook? Set up a rule to scan the subject AND message body for the word failure or failed.

"Got no time for the jibba jabba!"
    -B.A. Baracus

• Thanks.. I've already gone down these routes..

a) I'm far from annoyed when I get success reported with everyone of them! It means I can take the rest of the morning off!! 😉