Creating an audit trail

• Hello all!  I am a novice MS SQL Server user.  Does anyone know how to create a "trigger" within a certain database table (in this case the table is called service), which will capture when a new record is created or when a record has been modified in a certain table.  An example would be loading data into the service table.  Before the data is loaded, there are 200 service records.  After the data load there are 250 service records in the database.  I would like the trigger feature to capture all the new records in the database (50).  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

• Where do you want to send that new information?

You have to give more details or the answers we'll provide will be extremely generic... at best.

• Well in a simple world, I would like to write the results to a miscrosoft excel spreadsheet.  If that's not possible, then I would like to have the ouput placed in another table, which I would have to create.  Any suggestions on where the results should be stored?

• One possible way is to create a table with an identity column as the primary key, a "what" column that would hold the information so you know if the record was inserted, updated or deleted, a "who" column that would identify who did the action and a "when" column to hold when the action happened and then the data from the table you want to track, whether that is just the key column(s) or all of the column from the table you are auditing.

Where you what that table would be up to you - the same database or possibly one you use only for this type of audit data.

Then create the triggers to use the deleted and/or inserted tables to populate the data as you need using simple T-SQL.

• Thank you fro your response.  So are you saying I could have another database that will store the audit information?

Also, what is simple T-SQL?  Do you mean SQL scripts?