Creating a stored procedure with paramaters

• Hi all, I am new to SQL Server. I have an assignment for class where I have to create a Stored procedure that accepts paramaters and inserts a record into a database.

I have learned very basics of Stored Procedures and paramaters. I was just wondering if someone could give me a mock-up example of what i have to do so I can get this assignment working. I have to insert a record into a table called Students.

It must accept like 4 or 5 paramater s and also check to see if a balance field is not zero or not null. If it is I have to put another value (like $100) into it. I also have to check for an error number after insertion. Any help appreciated,

Thanks.

• I'm afraid doing a mock-up example for you would be pretty much completing your assignment for you and putting you at a disadvantage because you wouldn't have learned anything.

Do what I do.... steal ideas from Microsoft. ie. Look in SQL Books Online for syntax and simple examples, and then look at some of the sp_addxxxxxx stored procedures in your master database for some insert procedures that validate parameters.

Cheers,

- Mark

Cheers,
    - Mark

• quote:

Hi all, I am new to SQL Server. I have an assignment for class where I have to create a Stored procedure that accepts paramaters and inserts a record into a database.

I have learned very basics of Stored Procedures and paramaters. I was just wondering if someone could give me a mock-up example of what i have to do so I can get this assignment working. I have to insert a record into a table called Students.

It must accept like 4 or 5 paramater s and also check to see if a balance field is not zero or not null. If it is I have to put another value (like $100) into it. I also have to check for an error number after insertion. Any help appreciated,

Thanks.

• quote: