Create a database everymonth with DB name as DB_monthname_year

• Issue:I am looking to automate a data migration from MS Access to Sql Server 2005.

I have the following options to accomplish it:

•SQL Server Migration Assistant

•Creating SSIS package and using import-export

Brief: Just to give a broader picture of the task,

•Daily copies of MSAccess .mdb file will be placed on a share.

•These copies need to be migrated from .mdb to SQL server and updated in the current database DAILY.

•Also, a new database needs to be created at the start of each month.

Current situation:

I am totally new to SSIS. For now I am able to migrate data using SQL Server Migration Assistant.

Any help as how to schedule the same for daily migration.

Also to create a database every month with month name.

Regards,
    Dove

• Within SQL Server Business Intelligence Development Studio, under "Project", is a "SSIS Import and Export Wizard...". I would recommend you start there and see what it does (fairly easy to follow along). You can go through the tutorials and walk-throughs after to clean it up, should you decide to. You can then schedule the package in a SQL Server Agent Job. I am sure a lot of other people have great suggestions about best practices and what not, but hopefully this will at least give you some direction!

• Daily copies of MSAccess .mdb file will be placed on a share.

• These copies need to be migrated from .mdb to SQL server and updated in the current database DAILY.

• Also, a new database needs to be created at the start of each month.