Connecting To Multiple Servers To Run A Query

• I'm a newbie to MS SQL Server - I'm trying to get system table information from multiple servers about backups on our site and insert the rows the query returns into a table on one central server where I'm running the stored procedure from. I have the server names stored into a table but when I attempt to connect to servers from within the stored procedure, or when I try to run a query from Windows command line by using OSQL, I get an error which tells me that I need to create a linked server by using sp_addlinkedserver stored procedure. People that I work with tell me they want me to avoid creating linked servers - Is there a way to accomplish this without the use of linked servers? The query runs fine on its own server,  but it cannot connect to others and retrieve the same information.

Any help on this would certainly be appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

• Check out OPENQUERY in books on line, this way you can make the connection on the fly.

Andrew

• Andrew, I did use the OpenQuery method and I got the same result when I tried to run the query on a different server that's not defined as a linked server in the sysservers table. It told me that I needed to run sp_addlinkedserver, which is something they don't want me to do.

Any other suggestions?

• Michael,

My mistake, meant to say OPENROWSET:

select whatever from

OPENROWSET

('SQLoledb',

'server=YourServerName;uid=YourUser;pwd=YourPassword'

'select whatever

from databasename.dbo.tablename'

)

• Are you able to get this from one server , if yes then do this.

Make linked server , to all other server and then u can easily access that remote server as ur local server databases.