Confusions about deadlock

• I'm quite new to deadlocks.

Can lock mode U and X co-exists on same object by different process? In the below screen shot, it seems a same index is held X and U by different process. But according to the Lock Compatibility table, this should not happen.

And is there something I can do to avoid this kind of deadlocks?

The DML is a simply insert, but the table has a AFTER INSERT trigger which updates the whole table.

Thanks.

• Sheng (6/23/2009)

In the below screen shot, it seems a same index is held X and U by different process. But according to the Lock Compatibility table, this should not happen.

And is there something I can do to avoid this kind of deadlocks?

The DML is a simply insert, but the table has a AFTER INSERT trigger which updates the whole table.

Thanks.

Hey Sheng,

The deadlock graph shows a couple of key things: the lock that a process already has (owner mode) and the lock it is trying to acquire (request mode). You should be able to see that one process is requesting a lock which is incompatible with that already held by a second process, and in turn, the second process already holds a lock which is incompatiable with one already held by the first process. This is a deadlock - the only way for either process to make progress is for the other to be rolled back. More than two processes with locks can combine to produce a deadlock situation.

There is a great guide to interpreting deadlock graphs here[/url]

It seems unusual to have a trigger that would update the entire table - can you provide some more detail on this?

In the meantime, the Books Online entry entitled Minimizing Deadlocks can be found here

Paul

• Thank you Paul for your interpretion.

If an resource is held X by process A, how can it be held U by process B again? That's my confusion.

This trigger is used to deal a common seen scenario. There's a column storing a string need to be sort semantically:

"A1B1"

"A2B1"

"A9B1"

"A10B1"

"A10B2"