Complete Newbee Advice Required

• Hi All,

Well first of let me say how much i love SQLcentral and yes i am learning but need basic advice from you pro's

I come from a MySql background and we have no SQL Server admins so i was given this role.

I have identified we have 30 servers and it has always been a case of if a department wants a SQL database then we stick it on a new server.

My task will eventually be to migrate these down to just 4 servers (one day LOL )

At the moment we have mixed 2000 and 2005 on the servers.

Backup's are all over the place and many have never been backed up, forget about recovery plans etc.

Guess this is what you get with no admin.

At the moment I RDC to the servers to manage them.

My very newbee question is, should i get 2005 installed on my PC to connect to the servers or would this be a waist of time.

How do you guys connect to your servers, through SQL server manager on your desktops or ?

What monitoring tools would you suggest, to monitor performance and failure?

i have heard of Idera and MUM but what do you guys recomend.

As you can see these are very basic questions but hope you guys / gals can answer.

P.S money no object.

Hell i will be saving them a fortune by stop buying new servers for such small databases.

Thanks

• Yes, install the SQL Server 2000 and SQL Server 2005 client tools on your desktop and you'll save time connecting to your servers - assuming there are no firewalls stopping you from doing this. Make sure you apply the latest service pack to your PC for the client tools as well.

I can't recommend any third-party monitoring tools, but you might it helps your learning to set up a few performance alerts yourself - it'll also help when you come to evaluate any tools for doing the same job.

John