Challenging Trends

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Challenging Trends

• I'm a software developer and like many software developers said to you, Steve, I totally LOVE working from home!!!

It certainly was true that a lot of our business had to change, because of the pandemic, which we're still dealing with today. However, a substantial proportion of what we do hasn't changed. COVID required bypassing much of the bureaucracy that's in place, to get things done to serve our state's people. (I work in state government.) But a sizable proportion of projects still followed a waterfall, plodding very slowly, approach. In 2020 I'd say that acting quickly because it had an impact upon people's lives, was the major project approach. But in 2021 that balance shifted back the other way, big time.

Concerning the corporate culture, I don't see that as having changed much. Even within my team it hasn't really changed at all. For one thing my team was already distributed, so using email or MS Teams was how we collaborated. Even when I needed to communicate with a colleague that was in the next office, I never went to his office, nor did he come to my cubicle. That hasn't changed at all. It's just this team's culture.

Kindest Regards, Rod Connect with me on LinkedIn.

• Is that quote still applicable to your business? I wonder how many businesses have started to see new trends and needed to abandon some amount of historical data from their charts and graphs. If that's the case, then is it worth archiving some of that data away, rather than needing to keep it in an online database? Do reports need beginning default dates that start sometime after the pandemic affected the world? Interesting questions.