cannot convert between unicode and non-unicode

• Hi there!

I'm making lookups to SQL Server 2005 tables and inserting its values in another SQL Server 2005 table but I'm getting this error:"cannot convert between unicode and non-unicode". I've tried to make a data conversion but the problem continues.

Thanks for any help

😀

• It is just what it says - in one of your components you are trying to insert, update, or join by a unicode field to a non-unicode field (or the other way around). Use CAST, CONVERT, a Derived column, or a Data Conversion component to make your data types the same.

• hi,

You have to use Unicode String[Dt_WStr] datatype for solve this error 🙂

cheers

vijay

• Hi,

I am brand new to SSIS, and data types. Can you provide direction on this simple test i am doing with a DERIVED COLUMN?

(1) SQL Server 2005 OLE DB source: 2 columns, Address & City, both nvarchar(50) in db.

(2) Derived Column: expression (DT_TEXT,1252)City + (DT_TEXT,1252)AddressLine1. DATA TYPE: text stream[DT_TEXT]

(3) SQL Server 2005 OLE DB Dest: 1 column, Address, nvarchar(max) in db

ERROR: cannot convert between unicode and non-unicode string data types

I DON'T GET ERROR: if expression (DT_TEXT,1252)City

I assume this is a very simple error by someone who doesn't know what they are doing. Would a kind person point out the errors of my ways? Thanks.

• Your database field is NVARCHAR(MAX) - this is UNICODE.

Your derived column is [DT_TEXT] - this is not UNICODE.

Either make the derived column [DT_NTEXT] or make the database field VARCHAR(MAX).

• Thank you for that quick response.

But why don't i get the error when my EXPRESISION is "(DT_TEXT,1252)City",

and I do get the error when it is "(DT_TEXT,1252)City + (DT_TEXT,1252)Address".

• Hello

I am trying to load data from sql to excel file.

I used data conversion task to convrt data.

i still get the error cannot convert between unicode and non-unicode datata types.

i converted varchar to unicode string[DT_WSTR].