Can SQL 2005 do this?

• Hi all,

I've never set up replication in any flavor of SQL Server, so I was wondering if this can be done?

We have two servers, one with production databases and the other with reporting/analysis databases. We would like to move the prod databases to the analysis server nightly. The data is about 300GB. We are running SQL 2005 on Win 2003 Enterprise on both servers. Here are my questions:

1. How long would it take to replicate 300GB over the network?

2. Can we somehow move the databases once and then any changes on the nights after?

3. Can we somehow tell SQL Server to replicate at a certain time? If replication goes past the timeframe, what will happen? Will replication stop or fail?

3. If the answer to the above is yes, then should I be looking at replication, mirroring, or something else?

Sorry, I am totally clueless about this area, and I really appreciate your help.

• I'm not an expert in replication but I'd say that this is achievable.

if replication is what your after then i'd say Transactional replication is what you need. after the initial restore it will keep your secondary uptodate as transactions occur on your primary server.

Look up transactional replication in Books Online it should tell you all you need to know

Gethyn Elliswww.gethynellis.com

• You need to read up on replication in books online to understand what it is and if it will meet your needs.

With snapshot replication, you'd move the entire database every time, and 300GB might not move easily or in a timely fashion.

With transactional, you'd need to move a snapshot first (not sure if this is possible even in your environment) and then you'd move transactions. So you wouldn't be moving 300GB a night unless you had 300GB of changes.

If you are trying to get new data across, replication can definitely help, but you need to understand it well to make the decision for your environment.

• You can choose transactional replication.