Books for Newbies?

• Could anyone recommend a good book about SQL Server for a newbie to read?

• Development, admin or BI?

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Here's my situation. I'm a scientist that inherited a crazy database (MS Access for data entry, SQL Server back-end) when I started the current job. The database was created by a relatively competent person who left no clues on how he did things when he left the job. I need something that starts with the basics of SQL Server (walks me through it, more or less). After that, I want to progress to the more developer/administrative side of things because that's what I need.

I recently posted a question on here about how to solve a problem. The person helping me was very patient, but I realized that when I asked, "Where do I run this code?", I knew that I needed more of a primer on how to do things.

• here's a link to a nice free ebook to help you get started:

Troubleshooting SQL Server: A Guide for the Accidental DBA by

Jonathan Kehayias and Ted Krueger[/url]

Lowell

--help us help you! If you post a question, make sure you include a CREATE TABLE... statement and INSERT INTO... statement into that table to give the volunteers here representative data. with your description of the problem, we can provide a tested, verifiable solution to your question! asking the question the right way gets you a tested answer the fastest way possible!

• Excellent as that book it, it assumes some knowledge.

For basic T-SQL, try Itzik Ben-Gan's T-SQL Fundamentals. Not sure about a beginner's guide to SQL Server though

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability