Bit Data Types

• Hello, I'm a beginner and would like to know how to create a column in a table with a true or false field, 1 for true and 0 for false.

I understand that a Bit Data type would work, how would i script it?

I have [Column Name] bit as part of the script, can anyone suggest how i continue this?

• What do you mean by "continue?" You add this like any other data type. A bit can only have 1 or 0 values, so there's nothing else you need to do.

you can add a default if you wish or allow it to be null, which essentially gives you 3 values (0, 1, unknown).

• If you're unsure, use the GUI tools but instead of saving your changes have it save a script for you.

• Hi,

if you are very sure about the values that you can have for that columns is less than 3 then you can go ahead with bit data type. But its always better to use CHAR(1) to server the same purpose and can provide you more flexibility.

Thanks -- Vj

http://dotnetvj.blogspot.com

• Perhaps someone can correct me, but I found the bit datatype a dissapointment for a couple of reasons:

1. Since T-SQL doesn't understand TRUE/FALSE you are still stuck testing for 1 or 0.

2. A bit column does not seem to be allowed to be referenced in a SUM(myBitColumn) phrase. (Are 1's that hard to sum??)

• 1. this is true

2. you can't sum directly on a bit field because of the internal representation of that type of field in SQL Server. To accomplish what you want to do, you can instead get the row count for the rows for which this field's value is 1 :

SELECT COUNT(myBitColumn) from myTable WHERE myBitColumn=1

Stanislas Biron

• The "problem" with the SUM is that it's going to preserve the datatype, so you end up with some really "strange" results. Such as - anything summing up even numbers of 1 = 0, odd numbers of 1's = 1(since the bit can hold only 1 or 0). Now - while I could see some usefulness for this kind of function, it's probably not what you wish.