Best method to migrate to new DB server

• I found some underlying hardware problems that are going to require us to tear down our array.

We decided to take this opportunity to upgrade our server hardware and reevaluate our DB DR plan.

I need to replicate all the databases, logins, jobs, etc over to the new box. Did I mention also I have a

a user db that is taking some errors, and will have to be repaired before the move. I can not get a good back up on this db right now.

I have configured the array and loaded the os, sql server 2005, patches, etc on the new server.

I also created the volumes with the same drive letters ,etc.

So the question is what is the best approach to migrate my databases over to the new box.

- Detach / Reattach

- Full Backup and Restore

- Copy Database using the wizard in Server 2005

This is my first time moving a SQL 2005 database between servers, so I am looking for feedback on someone who is familiar with the pitfalls.

Thanks

D

• I never used the copy database wizard, so I can’t comment about it. Detach/attach is faster then backup and restore, but it causes down time on the original server. Backup and Restore is slower, but it doesn’t cause downtime. By the way, there are other things that need to be checked when you move databases. SQL Logins should be mapped again to database’s users (check sp_change_users_login in BOL), jobs need to defined again and also SSIS packages.

Adi

--------------------------------------------------------------
    To know how to ask questions and increase the chances of getting asnwers:
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/

For better answers on performance questions, click on the following...
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/SQLServerCentral/66909/