Average number of visits per site per month

• Hello:

I'm new to all of this, so please excuse me if this is a stupid question. I have a matrix that counts the number of visits each student (as opposed to faculty, public, etc.) makes to each library on campus within a certain time period. The row group is grouped by StudentID, and the column group is grouped by LibraryName. The detail text box's value is =COUNT(Fields!CardSwipeID.Value); every time a student enters a library, they must swipe their card, and each swipe is assigned a unique ID number.

That part works fine, but now I'm trying to build another matrix on the same report that shows the average number of student visits per library during that time period. I thought I could use this:

=COUNT(Fields!CardSwipeID.Value, "matrix1")/COUNT(Fields!CardSwipeID.Value)

...but it doesn't work. Matrices are kind of blowing my mind a little bit, and I've always sucked at math--can anyone help me out?

Thanks in advance!

• Have you tried using the AVG() aggregate function in the second matrix? Or is there some reason why this doesn't meet the need?

• Hi, Jack:

I did try using the AVG() function, but since I need to average a COUNT, it throws an error about not being able to nest aggregate functions. What would be perfect would be if I could do something like this:

=AVG(COUNT(Fields!CardSwipeID.Value))

...but alas, SSRS hates me and won't let me do it. I tried to do AVG(Fields!CardSwipeID.Value), but that just averages the CardSwipeIDs as if they were numbers (which they are, I guess, but they're ID numbers, not numbers to be used in calculations).

Am I making any sense? I don't even know what I'm talking about anymore. :blink:

• Hello again:

Well, I've made a bit of progress, and I feel like I'm almost there...but not quite. I'm using this as the detail for my second matrix:

=Format(CountDistinct(Fields!CardSwipeID.Value)/CountDistinct(Fields!StudentID.Value), "#.###")