Assistance with Maintenance Plan configurations SQL 2005

• For you professional DBA's out there....what do your daily and weekly MP's look like? 

Do you check DB integrity each day? etc.

I've been using the Admin Pocket Consultant for MS SQL 2005 and its been a great help for most things and the websites are helpful too but I'd really like to hear from people who do this every day with real world examples of Maintenance Plans. 

Thanks again!

- Newb DBA

New to the DBA world...thank you for your help!,

IanR

• depends on the size of your databases, availability requirements and other tasks

generally though i run a defrag and checkdb every weekend (with the exception of our 600Gb database) and nightly backups with 1 hour t-log backups

i also never automatically claim space back, as this can be counterproductive sometimes - if the log needs 1Gb of space to do a defrag then why shrink it and then have it grow back again - it will only take longer do the defrag

MVDBA

• Thank you Michael.  

So you do a full backup as well as a t-log backup?  So the full backup doesnt include the t-logs?

Currently I'm working with a new SQL 2005 server running Server 2003 for OS.  THe DB is new and only 170mb but expected to grow rapidly once its live.  We have a couple user db's and the standard system db's so at the moment I'm just trying to get a good maintenance plan in place to keep them clean, functional and restorable in case of disaster. 

I currently have a maintenance plan in place for the user db's and one for the system db's both of them are basically doing everything from checking integrity to full backup every night.  I know this isnt the way it should stay but I didnt want to miss anything.

Any direction would be SUPER appreciated.  Thanks