As a new DBA and a general SQL Newbie.. (recommendations on managing SS2k8 & Other tasks)

• I am a novice to SQL (In general) and a fairly new DBA -- I have quite a few questions.

I'm really curious as to what needs to be properly looked at and managed in regards to SQL Server 2008.

I know that I need to do Integrity Checks, Index Rebuild/Reorganize, Backups, Statistic Updates...

That's all that comes to mind. What I'm wondering is, what needs to be maintained and how often?

I also really enjoy managing my SQL Server Instance, the server is resides on, and the network.

What kind of advice or suggestions would you give me to help me further my career so I can continue to do what I'm enjoying so much?

What kind of traits does a successful DBA/DEV hold?

Is there anything that I should know about or advice you would like to pass down to me?

What can I do to be apart of the community and "get out there".. I know contributing to this forum is a good idea 🙂 There isn't a SSUG here in my area that I know of (chattanooga).. can someone so new as me start one?

I would love to do some consulting and side work, do any of you consult here? What have your experiences been with consulting?

I guess that's all I will bother you for... at least for now 🙂 There are so many questions going through my head!

• I guess I'm asking for too much or I could have worded my post better?

• It's a big question and if you want a quick answer it's, "It depends."

How often backups, integrity checks, and reindexing needs to be done depends on your environment. If the database is in use strictly 8-5 then you can probably do it every night. If it's in use 24 hours then it gets more difficult. SQL and Windows error logs and disk space are a couple things you didn't mention that are important.

I recently made the change from a Database Developer to a Production DBA so I picked up Thomas LaRock's DBA Survivor book. It's something you may be interested in for yourself.