Archiving and Deleting Tables

• Hi,

My database has a table that grows continuously as the application users do things, as it is used to record user's actions.

In order to prevent the database from getting too large, I have a requirement to clear out the table whenever it reaches to a certain size, but before clearing out the table, I must save the data into some sort of yet-to-be-determined archive file.

The table has no relationships with any other tables in the database, so I figure this should be fairly straight forward to do.

That said, I am struggling to figure out how to do it as I am a newbie to SQL Server (and databases in general) so I don't even know where to start looking. Any direction that anybody can provide will be much appreciated.

Questions:

1. How can I set up SQL Server 2008 to export the table and clear it when it reaches the size limit?

2. Any recommendations for the archived file format? (I was thinking a CSV file would be sufficient.)

Thanks,

-jeremy

• Exporting to a file is easily done with BCP.

An important question here though is, what benefits do you (or your boss/company) hope to derive by making some of the data unavailable to the application? Likewise, why do you need to still keep it somewhere else? (what circumstances/conditions would require you to retrieve it and for what tool and/or purpose?)

[font="Times New Roman"]-- RBarryYoung[/font], [font="Times New Roman"] (302)375-0451[/font] blog: MovingSQL.com, Twitter: @RBarryYoung[font="Arial Black"]
    Proactive Performance Solutions, Inc.
    [/font]
    [font="Verdana"] "Performance is our middle name."[/font]

• Thanks for your reply RBarryYoung. You have brought up some good questions.