Aggregation over multiple columns

• Hi,

I have a table with 33 columns of Skill types e.g. Skill1, Skill2, ..etc. A particular skill, say, "C#" can be found in any of the columns. Basically this table captures employee skill details. I would like to have a query that will list down the entire list of skills along with count of each type across all employees. i.e. "How many resources do I have with C# skills? How many do I have with C++ skills and so on.

I am a newbie to SQL and still groping the dark. Any help will be greatly appreciated

John

• Hi John,

Ideally you need to redesign so that the skills , and SkillsPerPerson are stored in separate tables...

Person

--------

PersonID

PersonName....

Skills

-----

SkillID

SkillName....

PersonSkills

----------

PersonID

SkillID

Designing the tables in this way will mean the database design will not need to be updated when a new skill comes along. It will also make query design VERY easy. This is best practice and is called Normalisation.

But, as I dont know your environment I may be jumping to conclusions. Here is one way to solve your problem using your current design:

Table design based on your information and some dummy data....

create table #Skills (

EmployeeID int identity(1,1),

skillA varchar(128),

skillB varchar(128),

skillC varchar(128),

skillD varchar(128) )

truncate table #skills

insert #Skills(skillA, skillB, skillC, skillD)

select 'C#', 'VB', null, null

union select 'SQL', 'AJAX', 'VB', null

union select 'C++', 'C#', 'VB', null

union select 'ASP', 'ASP.NET', 'C++', 'Javascript'

And the query....

with cteSkills(Skill)

as

(select distinct skillA as Skill from #skills

union

select distinct skillB as Skill from #skills

union

select distinct skillC as Skill from #skills

union

select distinct skillD as Skill from #skills)

select Skill , count(Skill) as SkilledPeople

from cteSkills inner join #skills on (Skill=SkillA) or (Skill=SkillB) or (Skill=SkillC) or (Skill=SkillD)