Adding in one table, result in another?

• I'm sure this is probably an easy one but I'm still pretty new to a lot of this stuff.

I have a table with 5 columns in it (which looks something like this)

USER_IDVAL_1VAL_2VAL_3VAL_4

My 2nd table has 2 columns and looks like this.

USER_ID Total

My goal:

I want to take the SUM of VAL_1-VAL_4 for each USER_ID and have the result show in my 2nd table for said user under the total column.

Further, I woudl like it such that if one fo the VAL_? are later modified that it kicks something off to update the total at that time.

Is this something that is fairly easy to do in SQL05 or am I biting off a bit much here for a newb?

Thanks,

Bob

• You can do it with a View pretty easily:

Create View vwTable1 AS

Select USER_ID, VAL_1 - VAL_4 AS [Total]

From Table1

And it's always up-to-date.

[font="Times New Roman"]-- RBarryYoung[/font], [font="Times New Roman"] (302)375-0451[/font] blog: MovingSQL.com, Twitter: @RBarryYoung[font="Arial Black"]
    Proactive Performance Solutions, Inc.
    [/font]
    [font="Verdana"] "Performance is our middle name."[/font]

• Ok, sorry for this but I'm still missing something. Does this view only retrieve the result and how then does this result get in to the appropriate field of the 2nd table.

:w00t:

• It's pretty simple to update a value in one table with data from another.

Here's the example from SQL Books online:

USE pubs

GO

UPDATE titles

SET t.ytd_sales = t.ytd_sales + s.qty

FROM titles t, sales s

WHERE t.title_id = s.title_id

AND s.ord_date =

(SELECT MAX(sales.ord_date) FROM sales)

GO

In this snippet, you are updating table titles with the values found in sales, but you need to reference both titles and sales tables in your FROM clause. Also, it helps to alias the tables (title t).