adding clustered index increased the number of rows in a large heap table

• Dear all,

I'm new with SQL Server and also the new in charge of the SQL Servers of my company. The problem

is that for some years... about 6 or 7 years, there was no one taking care of the DB servers. Just developers putting everything that they wanted to put in the DB's and no one administering it.

Currently we are still using the SQL Server 2000 and I have a big problem with a big table in a big database.

The larger table has about 130Gb, with 90millions of rows and, due to business matters, they don't want clean the data inside it by now. So, as the database has more than 300Gb, all in one datafile, with all the tables more fragmented than my bank account:crying:, the backup/restore of the database turned a problem, taking more than 6 hours each one.

I'm looking for solutions to solve this and I already tried the following in a test environment:

dbcc indexdefrag / dbcc reindex

dbcc shrink database / shrinkfile

and all of the combination of the commands above, has took more than 450 hours running 24hrs without stop.I'm not crazy... I waited because they asked me to report every result of everything.

The result was more than 100Gb released to the OS. Sounds good, but, impossible to do in the production environment.

After that, I've tried to create a clustered index in the table described above, in a new datafile. The clustered index took 11hours to be created, but, the result of the size was better than reindex the table. I became a table with 50Gb of size versus 70Gb after the reindex. The weird thing is that after the creation of the clustered index, the number of rows increased about 5000 rows. Also, the space wasn't released to the OS, just stayed as "unused space". Is there anyway to release this without the shrink ? Since the test with shrink took more than 200 hours to group all the data and than, release the free space...