Access ADP

• Hi All,

I am new to ADP style databases and am wondering if it is possible for end users to manually insert records from an ADP style database as they would in a regular Access database that has linked tables. I have created a test ADP database using the database owner in the connection properties, yet the Insert New Record option seems to be disabled when the table is opened.

On the Advanced tab I cant seem to change any properties. Have I missed something or am I doing this wrong?

Thanks in Advance,

Terry Pino

• Try to make records unique.

I had similar case, a unique index in source table killed the problem.

• Another thing you may need to research are indexes and keys.  I seem to remember something about not being able to insert records unless there was a key.

Good Hunting!

AJ Ahrens

webmaster@kritter.net

• I tried to import data into ADP before.  What version are you running.  I was told by ADP they do not support or allow updates to thier tables.  Contact your ADP rep for support.

• He is talking about Access Data Project...

First, a user should never, not for any reason, have access to or be entering data into a table directly.  Design forms and do all of the data entry through them.

Second, proper design, especially in providing primary keys for all tables is essential.