A little advice please on Business Intelligence

• Hello all.

Need a little advice if thats ok on a few points.

First a little about myself if thats ok.

I'm at a crossroads in life with my career and i am close to committing to going down the BI road. I have been a Crystal Reports writer since 1997 and have used all versions from then until version 2008 now. I consider myself an expert Crystal Reports Developer. Along the way i have also seen and used all the version of SQL Server from 6.5 to 2005, I am yet to cross swords with SQL 2008, not even seen it or read up on it yet. I know my way around SQL 2005 but am no expert. I was an acting DBA on SQL 6.5 for several years way back, but never took that futher. I have always had a home network and SQL server (sad i know) to train and develop on, that remains.

Now, i would like a little advice on whether i should go ahead and get the Microsoft press book for SQL 2005 BI (70-445 exam) or bypass that and go for SQL 2008 BI (70-448 exam) instead. Is there any real benefit doing 2005 first ? I do intend to take whatever exam at prometric when im done. On amazon there is only 1 reveiw for the 2008 book and none for the 2005 book. So has anyone got any comments about these books? Money is tight at the moment as i have moved from the UK and am now in Norway, i need to get the right books as I am taking this opportunity to bring myself up-to-date in some areas. I have got my hands on some training vids of BI for 2005 but there is one particular area that was lacking and thats how (and the best practices) to get from your day to day database to the datawarehouse version that you interrogate with cubes, and reporting services etc. I presume its all done within SSIS, however i am not sure on this.

I would also love to hear some comments from those of you that have Business Objects (SAP) BI experience as well as the SQL version about. Is there a book on SAP's BI that you would recommend ?

Any help will be appreciated.