2 instances of SQL on same server

• I have been given someone else's "creation" and I believe they unknowingly installed 2 instances of SQL Server Enterprise Edition onto a Windows 2000 Server. This server only runs optical software for scanning documents, but I wonder as a DBA if this is the best solution. I am a new SQL Server DBA, originally an Oracle DBA, so I am still learning all the nuances of SQL Server. So please excuse my questions if they seem ignorant.

Does anyone have any experience with cleaning up someone else's work?

Does anyone have any recommendations for me that will help me verify that my suspicions are actually true?

Thanks for any help.

• Right Click on task manager see how many sqlservr.exe (image name) process you see?

* Noel

• That was my first instinct and what gave me the inclination of the 2 instances. Thanks for confirming that for me.

Any other advice as to the best way to combine both into one instance?

• Well, first off, are you sure there aren't valid business requirements to run 2 instances ?

Maybe there are 2 versions of the client side software installed, and they need to be on physically separate instances to avoid database & object name collisions ?

Maybe 1 of the instances is used for Dev/Testing ?