Year To Date as MDX in cube? or just query?

• Dear all,

I have little practical experience of SSAS/MDX and I would appreciate a bit of advice...

Where I currently work, there has been many years of very bad habits and relatively low skills level so I feel I need to check some of their "assertions".

One such assertion is that it is not possible to get decent performances when performing "Year To Date" queries by using MDX within the cube.

Their first approach has been to try and calculate the Year To Date figures in the ETL... and that proves difficult with serious performance problems (are we surprised???).

So, the current thinking is that it should be left to report writers.

I find this disappointing because I would rather have this in the cube directly (as the end users request, actually).

Question: since it looks such a simple MDX on the time dimension, would there be any fundamental problem in introducing the YearToDate as a calculated member in the Time Dimension?

Or am I getting this drastically wrong? If so, could you point me towards "useful reading" to brush up my knowledge, please?

Many Thanks

Eric

• Personally I think MDX excels at time based calculations. I think it is one of the main reasons to use MDX.

• My question then would be: Is there any reason why we should exclude every MDX based calculated member in a cube?

Would this be likely to kill the overall preformance of the cube?

• Generally I would create all common calculations & measures in the cube using MDX Expressions. Leave the ad-hoc and infrequently used calculations to the report unless the calculation is a particularly difficult calculation to do right.

BIDN has a good article on time based calculations that would likely ehop you. I believe registration is required, but if you do this kind of work regularly it is a good site to use in addition to SSC of course.

Here is the link.

http://www.bidn.com/articles/mdx-and-dmx/169/mdx-time-calculations-done-the-right-way">