When to use stored procedures

• Hello, i'm new to programming with sql server. I've heard alot about the good things of stored procedures. my question is when is the right time to use stored procedures when building an application? I'm using visual basic 6.0 to create the application.

Thank you before

• i'm working in Access for 2 years.

All hard proccess i made with stored procedure. you can solve  a complex problem with it. You can select, insert data into new table , you can update table . so, you can program all you want with this. you can use parameter in or out.

I saw aplication in C and VB with the same tehnology.

Costica

• IMHO, in your mixed language environment, I'd do sprocs when you have control flow to further cook you data. If the cooking is done in VB, you're bringing lots of raw data off your server then reducing it down to the answer you want. If you do this in a sproc, only the answer comes off the machine.

On larger projects, I've found sprocs are useful if you have a dedicated DBA who can spend time tuning sprocs without wading through your VB code.

For simple queries, I dont find that much performance improvement by moving it to a sproc. I tend to use exec('') to get a new plan each time so being precompiled doesnt help me much. For these, I'd look at a view before jumping into a sproc.

• Hi

The right time for stored procedures? After the connection opened in your application.

It seems to be an overkill at the beginning to do any data-access (SELECT/INSERT/UPDATE/DELETE) within procedures. Some reasons:

1.)

Keep things together. Since you will need them when your queries become more complex it makes sense to keep all in database instead of hybrid solutions.

2.)

Performance. If your application creates dynamic statements they have to be compiled (validation, analysis, execution plan, ...) every time you send a new statement.

3.)