SQL Server 2012 - Column Store Index

• Has anyone tried this?

Is it really as fast as they say ?

Thanks

• In testing several people have. Yes, they can be.

Look up Joseph Sack's blog post on them.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Isnt it more suited for OLAP than OLTP applications cause I think it is more of a read only index.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    I am just an another naive wannabe DBA trying to learn SQL Server

• I wouldn't say 'more of read-only', it's completely read only, the index and the table that it's on. I can see uses in OLTP systems (especially historical data). It's being touted as a BI feature

Gail Shaw
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

• Thanks

• GilaMonster (3/10/2012)

In testing several people have. Yes, they can be.

Look up Joseph Sack's blog post on them.

interesting article from the blog on performance

http://www.sqlskills.com/blogs/joe/post/Comparing-Query-Performance-when-using-an-e2809cideale2809d-Nonclustered-Index-versus-Columnstore-Index.aspx

Thanks Gail

• I noticed that the Column Store index is quite selective regarding data types and included fields.

Does anyone know if running the Actual Execution Plan in SQL Server 2012 is 'smart' enough to suggest a Column Store index, if needed, over a regular non-clustered index?

Thanks

• I certainly hope not, it's not a replacement for 'regular' nonclustered indexes. I can just imagine the chaos if the missing indexes did suggest columnstore indexes and people added them without checking.

It's very doubtful. As it is, the missing indexes doesn't suggest clustered indexes, spatial or XML indexes.