Import Slow

• We have been experiencing extreme latency when running DTS packages importing information from an Oracle database into our SQL database.  The network gurus have been checking routers, switches, bandwidth etc. and have found no problems. The problem started about 3 months ago.

Today I ran a simple query using two different tools

I used the SQL Import wizard and the Crystal SQL Designer.  I used the same computer and the same odbc connection to pull the data.

Crystal returned the data in 3 minutes, where the SQL Import took 1 hour and 18 minutes to pull 84,000 rows.  My larger processes are taking 26-30 hours to complete.

Suggestions where to begin looking for a solution to this  problem would be greatly appreciated.  I am a drowning data analyst, not a dba, so please keep things as simple as possible.

Thanks,

Jennifer

SELECT

EPISODES.CLIENT_NUMBER,

EPISODES.OPENING_DATE,

EPISODES.CLOSING_DATE,

EPISODES.EPISODE_STATUS_FLAG,

EPISODES.REPORTING_UNIT

FROM

EPISODES EPISODES

WHERE

EPISODES.EPISODE_STATUS_FLAG = 'O'

• What does your DTS Package look like? How are you importing the data? Are you querying across a linked server or using a Transform Data Task?

Please describe every step of the process or export it to a file and send it to me so I can look at it directly.

If you don't feel you can adequately describe the DTS Package and can't send it to me, can you take a screen shot of the various pieces? The properties view of every connection object and every task being performed.

Also, what is the schema of the data being selected from the Oracle database? What is the schema of the where the data is being put in SQL Server?

My blog: SQL Soldier[/url]
    SQL Server Best Practices:
    SQL Server Best Practices
    Twitter: @SQLSoldier
    My book: Pro SQL Server 2008 Mirroring[/url]
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, Data Platform MVP
    Database Engineer at BlueMountain Capital Management[/url]